The Church – Organized as The First Trenton Presbyterian Church on October 15, 1836, the church began with twenty charter members.  Services were first conducted sometimes at either Van Dorn’s Tavern, or Ogden School House, both of which were constructed in close proximity to the intersection of what was originally Center Village Road, now known as State Route 605, and the Delaware to Newark stage coach road, now known as State Route 37.  The church moved to South Condit in 1856 to be closer to where the members lived.  A new church facility was constructed then dedicated on May 25, 1879.  We have been worshiping at this location ever since.  The church name was changed to what it is today, Condit Presbyterian Church, from First Trenton Presbyterian Church during the mid to late 1920s.

Our Sanctuary

Our Sanctuary is a spiritual place.  A person can sit quietly in meditation and imagine the many people who have worshiped here for almost two centuries.  Purchased in the 1960s, the wooden pews face the chancel to the South.  On the front wall hangs a large, rough-hewn wooden cross.  The loft is bordered by beautiful stained glass windows, placed in memory of members from the past.  On the wall to the East stands a large, stunning stained glass window depicting Jesus praying in the Garden of Gethsemane.  It was placed to commemorate Charter Members Alvin and Edgar Condit.  We are proud and humbled to be stewards of such a beautiful place in which we can hold our church services.